The Craigslist Puppy Scam

So for my first post I want to tell everyone about something that happened to me just the other day. Here’s the story behind how I got here too. For the longest time now I’ve wanted a chihuahua puppy and about a month ago I decided that I was ready and able to get one now. I have the time, money and I think I would really enjoy having a new companion. So after watching the for sale ads for a couple weeks and not finding what I want, I decided to post a ad myself, a want to buy ad. I’ve received many replies and still haven’t found what I want but one certain reply caught my eye. Its was from a guy named “tony mc” or as he signed in the email “Mark Tony Bouncer”. I’ll go ahead and post some screen shots of what he said. The first one was 2 were innocent enough. (Please click on the photo’s to see them large enough to read).

Here’s where I started to get suspicious.

These are the pictures he sent me where you can see both puppies are male. This made no sense since he had asked if I wanted a male or female implying he had both. I decided it couldn’t hurt to reply, tell this man why I am a good choice for his puppies but I had a gut feeling something didn’t ad up. Here is his next reply where it really showed that this was a scam.

You really see here how professional it sounds for one. It doesn’t sound like someone who is trying to find a home for their babies, it sounds more like a company trying to sell you something. Then as Craigslist always warns, never buy something from out of state and never send money to someone you don’t know and haven’t met with. I live in Oregon and my post was listed in Oregon, he stated he lived in Moore, OK. I highly doubt there even is a “Mark Tony Bouncer” let alone that he just happens to be moving here soon and wants to give them away here. I admit its a pretty good lie though. I decided to Google this type of scam and found a few websites with different stories but overall the same thing. Really what they want, and by they I mean the scammers, is they want you to believe you could get this amazing puppy for nothing more than the shipping cost or whatever cost they find. What happens is if you send them this money, you will never receive anything. You could end up waiting at the airport for this new little family member and it will never arrive which leaves them with your money.

Now I decided to throw him a curve ball. He had offered that I could come there to pick up the puppies so I replied that my family and I were actually going to be taking a vacation to see other family that were nearby his location and that I could pick them up then. Here was his reply to that.

Suddenly he couldn’t keep the puppies for another week and backed out of our little deal, hmm…. So that’s when I decided to start this blog in hopes that I could help others. Please don’t be fooled by this and please listen to Craigslist when they tell you to not send money to someone you don’t know and don’t buy something before meeting up and actually seeing what you would be getting. I have one more ad from CL to show, I found this post just after I had exchanged e-mails with “Mark Tony Bouncer” and felt I should show you one more type of this scam.

This scam comes in many different types, different stories, names, and lies. If you see this type of thing please mark/report it as spam in your e-mail before deleting it. I hope this post helped someone today and if anyone else has some suspicious e-mails you would like investigated or published, feel free to let me know. I would be happy to help.

Tags: , , ,

About misskatiekat

Hey, I'm Katie and I live in Oregon. I decided to start this blog as a informational site. I will post things here that I think can be useful to others!

7 responses to “The Craigslist Puppy Scam”

  1. Maxene says :

    I responded to an ad about a standard Poodle. His wife died and he did not have time for the dog. The man wanted all my information How much I worked, who all lived in my house, their schedules and phone numbers, did I have a fence and my home address. It seemed all legitimate but I decided to to divulge my home address, do to being single women(just to be safe).

    I never received a response. So in a few weeks a saw the same ad so I wrote him an explained that I had answered his ad before and did not receive a response (I thought maybe he had second thoughts) but I was still willing to meet the dog. Once again did not divulge my address. Once again no response. That made me think he never asked for references and never answered even to say never mind or that I forgot to add my address. I now think it was a scam, the person would of had all my info including when I would not be home and I did not have a dog. Free range of my home for a dishonest person.

    • Shirley Severa says :

      I also responded to a puppy ad like this on the web site at puppybreeders, and I was took for $538.00 plus Western Union fees. I really want ed that puppy. Now I have no puppy and I’m out the money. I am so sad.

      • sherri sherman says :

        Hi shirley i have been devastated had a girl in philladelphia telling me i could get this french bull dog for only 250.00 to have the dog sent to me.and i fell for it and then the so called people that were puting the dog on the airplane said they needed another 250.00 for a special crate to fly sent that too.he said it was all refundable when i pick the dog up at airport.last but not least they needed another 400.00 for insurance and that was refundedable to.well i got no puppy and im out 900.00 and i had to cancel moving into my apartment and lost another 200.00 for the deposit they have made my life a living hell. how they can do this to people and be ok with it is beyond me.the girls so called email is angelagonzalez229@yahoo.com.Be Aware!

  2. nichole says :

    I have received an email similar to this from a father rex… i was looking for a goldador. I had to really persistent for pics and when the sent it, it was a pic of a white poodle mix! Lol…

  3. Amber says :

    This happened to me the other day with Husky puppies!! Be aware!!!

  4. nice houses for sale says :

    Hello! I’ve been following your site for some time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Humble Texas! Just wanted to tell you keep up the good job!

  5. Chelsea says :

    This just happened to me yesterday… I fell for it because I was told that he had a little tea cup terroir. I’m now out of 200$. I found out it was a scam after they said that they need 400$ more because of paper issues with the puppy. So they wanted me to ship them 400$ and then they SAID they would give me 300$ of it back. I’m glad I found out it was a scam but pretty bummed that I lost 200$ because of it. LESSON LEARNED!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

